So… you want to learn about UX?

ux-vs-ui-dev-skills-simple

What’s UX?

User Experience Design (UXD or UED ) is the process of enhancing user satisfaction by improving the usability, accessibility, and pleasure provided in the interaction between the user and the product.[1] User experience design encompasses traditional human–computer interaction (HCI) design, and extends it by addressing all aspects of a product or service as perceived by users.[2]

–from wiki

When I first heard of a UX designer position in my current company, I’ve been curious of what UX really means and people used to tell me: “You have been getting in touch of the UX already! In mobile app, you make the button bigger in order to be more clickable, font text adjustment for elderly user etc.” I think these are just the small part of UX. Learning UX will certainly compliment my job as a mobile developer in a long term and who knows I might be able to provide my perspective coming from a mobile developer background in UX design.

Why I need to attend a course?

There are a lot of ways to achieve a goal. Of course, self-learning in UX will succeed as well. For me, I need a more systematic way/mentorship to guide me through UX and to ensure I’ll commit my hours weekly consistently. Same theory applies to those who want to sign up gym to “force” themselves to exercise consistently because they have “paid” for it.  I get easily distracted once I’m getting busier on my work project.

There are a lot of suggestions and options on which learning resources is the best and I have been reading most of the reviews online on them(Quora, Medium) which most of them describe their courses are PERFECT. (not helping at all)

ux-design-process-ideate

 

1. What’s your budget?

The price. I can’t deny that it shocked me when I see the pricing on Bloc and General Assembly on full-time(10k SGD++)/ part-time(4k SGD++) because I didn’t expected the price is kinda steep for me so.. there MUST be a thorough research on these to make sure my money well-spent.

Do make sure if your company provides any incentives for your professional courses so you can actually has it cover if it is possible. UX course in Design Lab comes in a more affordable price(a shorter time span: 6 weeks).

It also comes with a doubt: Do I really need to spend THAT MUCH? Does Money = Quality?

 

2. On/Off-campus?

Whether you choosing on doing learning online or offline, it will have to depend on your preferences on learning a group or one-on-one.  For my own preference, I prefer learning in a group because I’ll get a chance to hear on other’s views as well. There is a time-limitation though because the instructor will need to ensure the class finished in 2 hours (for GA)

I’m sure in one-on-one, the instructor dedicates the focus on you and there’s no time constraint (based on the reviews)

3. What’s your time commitment?

I’m still working so full-time is certainly not an option to me (and the price as well: read point 1).  For off-campus, it is safer you do not allocate any travel trip during that period. (You still need time to finish weekly assignment) I missed my first lesson on GA on-campus lesson because of flight delay.

If you can’t ensure your time slot secure on a period, online course will be more feasible. At least in Bloc, you can reschedule your time with your mentor or even choose the pace of your course from time to time (Intense: 12 weeks with 3 mentor sessions weekly, Moderate: 18 weeks with 2 mentor sessions, Comfortable: 36 weeks with 1 mentor session)

4. What’s the course scope?

I read a lot on the course scope between different learning sites. Since I’m a developer, I do not wish to dwell too much time on tool learning(this can be learned online like Udemy/Youtube) or coding. I’m more interested in how to conduct interviews, requirements collection, design thinking etc.

How many projects will be completed after the course?

Will you wish to learn a little bit of coding on website/mobile to showcase your projects?

Remember you will need completed projects in your portfolio if you wish to pursue a career change after this.

 

5. Getting a job after this?

Most of the online courses started to provide statistic of their success rate on job placement as a way to convince you that after attend their course, you’ll get higher chances. Just take it as a reference, don’t fully believe it because eventually employers need to see your SKILLS, not your academy’s credibility.

 

Conclusion

After comparing all the factors, I’ve made up my mind to go for a more traditional way which is on-campus, attend classes which I have the chance to know more like-minded people on part-time basis.

ux

 

**I’ll be writing a weekly post on my experience on GA as a learning report of what I’ve learn during that 10 weeks.**

Disclaimer: Note that I’m not being sponsored by GA so my views solely based on my observations and learnings.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

